13
Apr
10

The Gadget Show Live 2010: Part 2

After the wordy and somewhat pessimistic look at 3D televisions yesterday I think it is time for something a little more light-hearted, so lets have a look at some of the acts in the live show itself.

Even as we were taking our seats there was entertainment in the form of two robotic floating penguins.

These graceful creatures are helium filled robots made by Festo. They can fly around completely autonomously using ultrasonic sensors to avoid obstacles and each other, though we were told that for the purposes of the show they were being remote controlled. Health an safety gone mad I expect…

They disappeared before the show started but they were brought back and flown around again, nice and low this time so that some of the kids in the audience could touch them.

Unfortunately you have now seen the best of my videos and photos from the show, I do love my Nokia E63 but really wish it had a better camera… From now on in the post the videos are not my own and should be a better quality as a result.

Titan the robot was probably the strangest part of the show and with the spotlight on him all the time my video just showed a whitish blob. Fortunatly someone managed to get a decent video though.

For anyone wondering; No, Titan is not a real robot, it isn’t even radio controlled, it is still very impressive even if it is an animatronic suit and it was very hard to tell it was a suit from where I was sitting but it is hard to believe that they would have had a real robot wandering about the audience shouting movie quotes so that gave it away a bit.

I didn’t even try to film this next act, it was quite possibly the highlight of the show for me but I knew it would not come out.

For more videos of this amazing act got to the Feeding the Fish website. If you get the chance I recommend seeing them live.

As I said in yesterdays post I am very glad I managed to get the Supertheatre tickets this year and will definitely try to get them next year. I just wonder what they will have in the next live show to try and top this year…

6 Responses to “The Gadget Show Live 2010: Part 2”


  1. May 4, 2010 at 11:49

    Duuuude…you have dispelled the myth surrounding Titan the Robot! But on the plus side good videos and blog might have to check out the show next year! Good work!

  2. September 2, 2010 at 16:09

    Hello! Those last two videos are mine :D. I have to apologise for the shaking.

  3. September 2, 2010 at 16:14

    No need to apologise, they are better than my videos! Hope you don’t mind me using them.

  4. September 2, 2010 at 16:23

    Of course not! I’m glad they’ve been put to good use in your blog. Thank you for using them! ;)

  5. September 2, 2010 at 16:25

    Are you on twitter Jon_hill987? I like the look of your blog!

  6. September 13, 2010 at 09:12

    I’m not on Twitter, but WordPress have now added a feature where you can tweet a blog page or something…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Disclaimer

I can take no responsibility for the content of any external links in this blog, usual internet security practices should apply when using them or downloading content from external sites. ......................................................