13
Apr
09

My New Computer – Part 4: Done

Well, nearly.

There have been a few hiccups but the computer is up and running. My main problem at the moment is a lack of internet, the wireless card from my old computer did not fit onto the USB headers on the new motherboard so I have ordered a standard PCI card which should arrive on Wednesday. Until then I will have to use my netbook for internet access.

It was originally my plan to take some pictures throughout the build and then put up some sort of tutorial post. This however is not going to happen, I didn’t take the half way pictures and besides, there are already plenty of other “build your own computer” guides on the internet, most of which are better than mine would be.

I am however going to post some pictures of the finished PC and some of the points where I had trouble along with my thoughts on some of the components.


Photobucket

The Antec 300 case is very nice, particularly with the optional front fans, as with all the Antec cases I have used the build quality is brilliant and it is clear that they have thought about the design like engineers rather than artists. It is not a huge case but it was more than big enough for my use and easily has enough width for a large CPU heatsink. The only place where it is lacking is a long graphics card will make it difficult or even impossible to use one (or more if you SLI/Crossfire) of the hard disk bays, but with 6 to choose from this is hardly a massive problem.
Photobucket

The Scythe Mugen 2 CPU cooler I was not so impressed with. For a start (with a socket 1366) mounting it involves removing the existing backplate on the motherboard and it has to be out of the case to mount as the screws are done up from the back. I found these screws were to long so shortened them with washers to get a tighter fit, however the heatsink is so heavy that there is still some movement there and I think it is effecting the contact as two of my core run hotter than the other two all the time. The temperatures are good though, the at idle the cores are at 25 DegC (or 30for the other two) and when running 8 instances of Prime95 they were at 47 and 52 DegC respectively. I may have another go at mounting the heatsink but as those temperatures are well within acceptable levels I may not bother. At any rate I am going to wait until I have some answers as to weather the hot cores are the ones at the top of the heatsink and therefore would be caused by it being at a slight angle.
Photobucket

Until Wednesday when I get my wireless card I am unable to give information about how well this computer performs with games. Unfortunately all of my games that would be much of a test for the computer are refusing to work without going online to activate. DRM at its most useful. I expect performance will be good, particularly on games that are heavy on the CPU and RAM, but as I am using my old 8800GT graphics card I don’t expect it to break any records.

Photobucket

Final Note: If you buy an Antec case (with the PSU at the bottom) make sure you also get a extension for your 12V supply to the motherboard (4 or 8 pin). You will probably need it.

4 Responses to “My New Computer – Part 4: Done”


  1. April 13, 2009 at 18:15

    Ooooh, aaahhh, etc.

    Nice tidy desk, did you clean it up just for the photos? ;)

    Hopefully you can now get on with that list of games to complete.

  2. April 13, 2009 at 20:54

    I tidied the desk so I could get rid of the dust before I set up the computer. :)

    Yes, hopefully that list will start getting smaller now, I’m having to wait on that wifi card before I can continue S.T.A.L.K.E.R. though, Steam is giving me errors with most games at the moment despite enabling off-line mode.

  3. April 14, 2009 at 09:30

    I dislike neon lights, but otherwise looks like a nice case. Mine’s an Akasa Zen which was damn cheap (I’m a stingy bastard) but a very nice case never the less. The Akasa is also MASSIVE so the SLI issue wouldn’t occur there.

    That cooler looks a bastard. I got an Artic cooler, which I think was probably a very good choice looking at yours ;D Quite small, but not very cool I have to say. Its idling about 60 which probably isn’t very good.

  4. April 14, 2009 at 09:44

    That is hot. You did use thermal past of some sort when you mounted it right?

    Also, none of those lights came with the case (apart from the power and HDD LED at the top), the front fans come separately and I could have ordered ones without LEDs, and as for the PSU, well that was a bit unnecessary, but it was only £2 more than the non LED version so I thought what the Hell.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None

Disclaimer

I can take no responsibility for the content of any external links in this blog, usual internet security practices should apply when using them or downloading content from external sites. ......................................................