27
Mar
09

Spah Sappin’ Steam Servah’

I can’t play my Steam games. Why?
Apparently a storm has caused power cuts in Seattle. What!? VALVe only have Authorisation servers in one place? Are they completely mad!? It wouldn’t be so bad if the offline mode actually worked but despite me setting steam to log me in automatically and remember my details it has deleted them so I can’t log on until they get the servers back. From my research as to why this happens it seems that if you are connected to a network but can’t get to the Steam servers it assumes you are a pirate and deletes your local data (not game content fortunately), in order for offline mode to work you have to disconnect from any network (even a LAN which isn’t on the internet) before you start Steam, but once it has deleted your offline data on your first attempt to connect, it is too late.

Lets hope VALVe fix this in a future update, I’m not going to hold my breath though.

EDIT: The servers are back up now. As far as I can tell from the stats page it was down for just over an hour. Still it makes you wonder what would happen to your games if they had a more serious problem…

EDIT 2: I took a screenshot of the stats page for later reference:
No games for me

3 Responses to “Spah Sappin’ Steam Servah’”


  1. 1 The G
    March 28, 2009 at 19:13

    You’d think a organization as large as Valve you have a contingency plan for situations like this. Lets hope they learn from it.

  2. 2 AJ
    March 31, 2009 at 14:26

    Back up generators I guess would be out for the amount of servers they no doubt have running and would cost a fortune to keep running. I presume the only other option is to split up the location of servers. There is probably a reason for doing it the way they have, perhaps with speeds and having to go through a portal of sorts to get to a specific server. Hopefully Valve will sort it out but I guess I hit lucky because at that time I was not online or wanting to play a game.

    I wonder though – if you were in game did it kick you off that?

  3. March 31, 2009 at 14:50

    I’m not sure if it kicked you off, I think I saw some people complaining on the steam forums and then the SS, sorry, volunteer moderators, telling them that they must have logged out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Disclaimer

I can take no responsibility for the content of any external links in this blog, usual internet security practices should apply when using them or downloading content from external sites. ......................................................